A Quick Overview of Cannabis Laws in Alaska

A Quick Overview of Cannabis Laws in Alaska


Alaska is one of 10 states where recreational marijuana use is legal in the United States. However, each state has its own unique laws regarding recreational marijuana use, so it’s important to know the laws for the state you’re actually in. If you are planning to light up in Alaska, here are the rules you’re going to want to keep in mind.


Purchasing, Growing, and Possessing Marijuana

Unlike many other states that have legalized recreational marijuana, Alaska does not impose purchasing limits for any individual over the age of 21. However, it is illegal to possess more than one ounce at any given time. A government-issued ID is required to purchase marijuana, and any falsifying of age is punishable by a fine of up to $400.


Adults of legal age can possess up to six marijuana plants, but only three can be mature and flowering at any given time.


Consuming Marijuana

In Alaska, it is illegal to use marijuana in any public place, which is defined by state law as anywhere outside a private residence. So, if you are traveling in the state, it may be prudent to purchase edibles over flower or pre-rolls. Because these harsh restrictions tend to put a damper on cannabis-related tourism, there is currently a review process to allow for public consumption areas, which would only be open to individuals 21 and over.


Driving and Using Marijuana

One of the most important cannabis laws to recognize in any state is that it is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana. Driving high constitutes a DUI and is subject to the same penalties as drunk driving. In addition, marijuana may not be carried outside state lines via car or plane.


If you’re looking for a dispensary in Wasilla, AK, you can find a highly knowledgeable staff and exceptional selection of cannabis products at the Green Jar. They are family owned and operated and open 7 days a week. Stop by and visit their staff or call (907) 631-3800 for more information.